“mama”

When I pictured a child saying the words “mama” for the first time I imagined my child would look at me, arms raised and lovingly say “mama” followed by a choir of angels singing something like this: (ok not really but you catch my drift) What I didn’t imagine is that it would happen like this:

I’m sitting at my computer going over how much it’s going to cost us to get certified copies of our birth certificates (our adoption agency kept ours) and Anaiah is fussing. I know she’s hungry so I stop what I’m doing and go grab a banana to cut up for her. AT this point her “fussing” starts to turn into yelling….”YELL.”…. pause…..”YELL” …pause… so at this point I say out loud “ok now she’s just  yelling at me” (I wish I had recorded it). My husband then comes out of his office and say’s “sweet heart she’s yelling “mama, you can’t hear it?” So I stop and listen and I’ll be darned! She was! Mind you she was yelling “MAMA!!!” (which sounded more like “UMA! UMA!”)  It was a demanding yell like “SLAVE GET ME BY BANANA”.

Ok so Anaiah has said “mama” twice before when she was sick (around 5-6 month’s old) but have never said it regularly before now.  On a more serious note it was still sweet. Even if she was yelling at me because I dared to leave the room.

One thought on ““mama”

  1. Ha! Wes used to call me “ayah”, which is what the girl in the movie “The Secret Garden” calls her Indian servant. So Jon called me an Indian servant. Needless to say, I was not too happy about it!

Leave a Reply

